14th Sunday Ordinary Time: 5 JUL 15: If you can dream it…you can live it!

14th Sunday Ordinary Time:  5 JUL 15

NLT Romans 8:

35 Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean Christ no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death?   37 No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[b] neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I am more and more convinced, that the only thing that can separate us, is ourselves.

Jesus couldn’t work transformation in the lives of so many who heard his message in his hometown, because folks just couldn’t allow themselves to risk opening their lives to Christ’s amazing and transforming message of hope.

I believe that is what we refer to as the Meta-Narrative of the Spiritual life!

Even when we are convinced of this powerful message, we wax and wane, we move in and out of living in that stream of transformational love.

The tapes of our upbringing, or of our lived experiences, or of the lies we have been told about ourselves over and over again, they seem to have a way of repairing their endless loops even after we go to all the work to break them.

We often stop the prophetic voices of our own lives and the lives of those around us because the tapes kick in….over and over again…don’t they…..

Tapes like: I am too old….I am too young….I am too wounded…I am not as holy as that person….or I could never….or the kicker…I am too sinful..too weak…too unworthy…

I call them the “TOO TAPES”

And they are extremely challenging to discard…..

Yet I believe that may be one of the greatest challenges and tasks of the Spiritual Life…..to really believe what St. Paul so eloquently described in Romans 8…nothing….absolutely nothing can separate us from the love of God….

The most powerful motivation I have experienced in life comes not from answers to the big questions of life; it comes from powerful questions…that encourage us to dream, to vision, to live into the great invitation of Christ…

So here are a few questions AND one powerful statement from one of the prophets in my own life and maybe you might find them useful in yours and on your journey as well.

This week how about giving ourselves a little bit of time to ask ourselves these four questions:

  • What truly brings you joy?
  • What fulfills you?
  • What challenges are you willing to embrace to achieve those dreams?
  • What do you need to let go of or stop doing in order to pursue that dream?

My friends that same prophet in my life said this to me and I believe she would want me to share it with you as well

…If you can dream it…you can live it!

Why?  Because nothing…absolutely nothing can separate us from the love of God…

As the sign above my office door in prison says:

Dream big dreams and pray big prayers!  Amen!

Leave a Reply

